February 2008
A police e-fit of the suspect
A police e-fit of the suspect

THIS is the face of a vicious rapist who forced himself on a 26-year-old woman before chasing her through the streets of Barking.

The attacker gained the trust of the young victim and then raped her in the stairwell of Enterprise House in Curzon Crescent.

After he had finished the sexual assault he chased her along Spencer Road until the terrified female knocked on the door of a house and shouted for help, he then fled.

The horrific attack took place at 4.15am on Sunday, February 3; just a few hours after the pair had met.

Detectives are now desperate to catch the dangerous criminal and have asked for help from residents living near the area.

They released this e-fit of the suspect which was prepared with the information supplied by the victim. He is described as a black male but no information on his clothing or height has been released to the press. Police are unsure whether or not the suspect is from the Barking area.

In a statement Barking and Dagenham Police said: “During the attack the victim shouted loudly and attempted to fight the man off. We would like to speak to anyone who saw or heard anything on the night in question.”

An incident board has been erected in Curzon Crescent and families in the area say they have been left disturbed and frightened by the attack.

Anna Millis, 28, who lives close to the scene of the crime, said: “I can’t believe this has happened. I am a single mum and I often walk home from pubs and clubs during the night but I don’t think I will anymore.

Rape is a disgusting crime and it makes me feel physically sick that it has happened on my doorstep.

Maxine Fuller, 40, added: “I have lived here nearly all my life and before I saw that incident board I was quite happy with my children playing in the street or walking to their mates’ house on their own. Not any more.

“I hope they catch that evil man and throw away the key.”

Anyone with information is urged to call Barking and Dagenham Police on (020) 8217 7734 or call Crimestoppers anonymously on (0800) 555 111

